How to Go Gluten-Free. The Basics 101.


This guide will make your life 100x easier. 


When I discovered I was celiac, it was a looooong journey to figure all this sh*t out. So, I did all the work for you and compiled this awesome guide on transitioning to gluten-free. 


To start, here's how you can set up a gluten-free kitchen:


  • Make sure you have your own jams, butter, spreads. You don't want others to double dip with glutinous knives into your container and get crumbs in there.
  • Buy a new toaster. Then you can ensure it's always gluten free
  • Designate certain cooking pots and pans to be 100% gluten-free. That way, no one else cooks their pasta in there.
  • If you live with roommates, label your stuff. I used to hide my things in my room because I was that OCD about it. THIS IS MY PEANUT BUTTER EVERYONE!
How to go gluten free via The Wild Manifesto


What grains are not gluten free?


  • Kamut flour.
  • Bulgur.
  • Rye.
  • Farina.
  • Barley.
  • Malt.
  • Wheat protein.
  • Couscous. (It can be easy to confuse it with quinoa!)
  • Orzo. (It looks like rice and I’ve made that mistake before).
  • Spelt flour (Some get this wrong and think it's gluten free - it's not!)


Also, be careful since gluten can be tucked away in other ingredients:


  • When it only lists "spices" or "seasonings" or "natural flavors" in the ingredients list,  there could be wheat in there.
  • Maltodextrin. Sometimes derived from wheat.
  • MSG (monosodium glutamate) which might have wheat.
How to go gluten free via The Wild Manifesto

What foods are NOT gluten free:


  • Lindt chocolate. It has barley malt extract.
  • Soy sauce. Made from wheat, not soy!
  • Miso soup. (Sometimes has soy sauce).
  • Hoisin sauce.
  • Worcestershire sauce. Some brands are gluten free, but most are not. If you can’t read the bottle yourself, pass on it.
  • Cocktail dipping sauce. (The type people eat with shrimp.) Sometimes it has Worcestershire sauce.
  • Artificial crab meat. It has wheat flour in it.
  • Beer. Various beers are gluten-free now, so look for those instead.
  • The green sushi wasabi at Japanese restaurants. Ask what it is mixed with. Sometimes they use wheat flour, other times it is mixed with water. 
  • Dates. Sometimes dates are rolled in wheat flour to prevent them from sticking together. I like to buy dates in a package where I can read all the ingredients and know what’s up!


Also, when you are at restaurants and the menu says an item is gluten-free, double check for these contamination types:


  • Anything deep fried may bother you because of the cross contamination in the fryer if wheat flour was also fried in there.
  • Gluten-free pastries that are made in a non-gluten-free kitchen. It is very easy to get cross contamination with flour.
  • Prepared sauces or soups at restaurants. Flour is commonly used as a thickener, so double check when they offer you a side salad.
#glutenfree via The Wild Manifesto

Snag my guide on how you can heal too!